Uhuru announces vacancies for IEBC Commissioners

File image of President Uhuru Kenyatta with IEBC chairman Wafula Chebukati

The plans to have the BBI report subjected to a referendum has gathered momentum with President Uhuru Kenyatta declaring four vacancies at the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission.

The move sets the stage for the replacement of commissioners after the constitution of a selection panel in what could be part of a wider scheme to fast track the BBI report.

A Special Gazette dated 14 April 2021 in which the announcement was made reads in part that “In exercise of powers conferred in me by Section 7A of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Act 2011, I, Uhuru Kenyatta declare vacancies in the positions of four members of the IEBC”.

The vacancies fell vacant when four commissioners resigned in a huff almost three years ago in what grounded the commission.

IEBC commissioners Margret Mwachanya, Consolata Nkatha Maina and AMB. Paul Kurgat 

Commissioners Consolata Maina, Margaret Mwachanya, and Paul Kurgat had resigned in 2018 in a huff in controversial circumstances as the President never acknowledge receiving their resignation letters.

Drama ensued a few months later when the quartet showed up at IEBC offices but were blocked from accessing their offices by IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati who maintained that they were no longer employees of the commission.

Parliament is expected to hold a special sitting to debate the BBI bill, paving the way for a referendum later on in the year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.