Uhuru names 7 committee members to recruit IEBC commissioners

President Uhuru Kenyatta yesterday constituted a seven-member committee to help with filling the four vacancies left by the commissioners at the Kenyan poll body Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC)..

Through a gazette notice seen by Kenya Leo.co.ke on Monday 26, 2021, the head of state-appointed Dr. Elizabeth Muli, Gideon Solonka, Awori James Achoka, Elizabeth Odundo Meyo, Dorothy Jemator Kimengech, Rev, Fr. Joseph Ngumbi Mutie and Dr. Farudin Suleiman Abdalla as members of the panel.

This comes after President Uhuru had weeks ago declared the four positions left by the IEBC commissioners in 2017 and 20 18 vacant.

As a matter of concern in their appointments, the IEBC act states that the panel must include nominees from the Public Service Commission, representatives from the legal profession, the Christian and Muslim faiths as well as academia.

The seven-member panel is tasked with recruiting the four commissioners, through the processes of shortlisting, interviews, and nomination of successful candidates for appointment by the president.

They are also expected to have a chairperson and a vice-chairperson from amongst them on their first meeting, and thereafter invite applicants for the four positions within 7 days.

For their smooth delivery on the mandate, they will be supplied with the necessary equipment and secretariat services by the Parliamentary service commission and, thereafter forward the names of successful candidates to President Uhuru Kenyatta.

President Kenyatta shall therafter automatically make them the IEBC commissioners after the approval of the Members of the Parliament,.

The current IEBC is composed of its only remaining three commissioners, Abdi Yakub Guliye and Boya Molu, and Wafula Chebukati the Commission’s chairperson.

This is after the resignation of commissioner Roselyne Akombe in 2017 amid threats to her life after the repeat elections while her Counterparts Consolata Nkatha, MargaretMwachanya, and Paul Kurgat, soon followed suit as they resigning in April 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.