Top Jubilee Party Politician Decamps to ODM

File image of ODM politicians at a recent press conference in Kisii

Jubilee party has suffered a big blow in the upcoming Bonchari mini polls after its chief campaigner ditched the party and joined the rival ODM outfit ahead of the Tuesday vote.

Isaac Motari the Kisii County Secretary joined ODModay, barely a day before Bonchari constituents taking to the ballot to elect their new MP.

While confirming the defection in a tweet earlier ODM party noted that Matari believes that Bonchari requires new and fresh blood which can only be found in ODM.

“Jubilee party Secretary for Kisii County Isaac Motari (centre) who has been at the centre of his party candidate’s campaign team has thrown his weight behind our candidate Eng. Pavel Oimeke ahead of Tuesday 18 by-election. He says Bonchari deserves new blood & fresh leadership,” ODM tweeted while confirming the defection.

The by-election is set for this coming Tuesday 18, My 2021 and has attracted 13 candidates from Jubilee, ODM, UDA and other parties.

File image of ODM candidate Pavel Oimeke on the campaign trail

Among those interested in the seat are Keraa Mary Sally Otara (United Green Movement), Zebedeo Opore (Jubilee), Erick Oigo (National Reconstruction Alliance), David Ogega (Kenya Social Congress) and Margret Gesare Nyabuto (Maendeleo Chapchap).

Others are Kevin Mosomi(Party of Democracy Unity), Pavel Oimeke (Orange Democratic Movement), Charles Mogaka(Progressive Party of Kenya), Jonah Ondieki(The New Democrats), Jeremiah Matagaro(Agano Party) Teresa Bitutu(United Democratic Alliance), Paul Matagaro (Mwangaza party) and Victor Omanwa (Party of Economic Democracy).

The constituency has been a bee hive of activities for the past weeks with a number of political leaders drumming up support for their favorite candidates in the race.

In the ODM brigade, the camp was led by the party’s Secretary General Edwin Sifuna, Kisii Governor James Ongwae and Woman Rep Janet Ong’era.

DP Ruto’s team also pitched tent in the area led by MPs; Alice Wahome (Kandara), Silvanus Osoro (South Mugirango), Beatrice Kones (Bomet East), Nakuru Woman Rep Elizabeth Chelule, Kericho’s Florence Bore and Elgeyo Marakwet’s Jane Chebaibai.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.